not a moment but a smile for the day.

I had to laugh when I read this article. It brought a smile to my face thinking about several past conversations with my friend Marianne. Around Christmas time every year she was always talking about her dislike for gift cards. She would say “why not everyone just keep their $25 and call it a day”. It makes me laugh because it is 100% true. I can not stand just going out and buying a gift card for someone for a birthday or Christmas. How much thought goes into that? I suppose there are exceptions to every rule; one of the few times I received gift cards that I actually thought it was very thoughtful and well planned was when my family move from the West back to the South. We drove for three days and a group of friends bought us gas & restaurant cards BUT in that case it was a wonderful idea and a big help. Luckily there were no gift cards in that lot for Shaper Image!  Just one more reason to consume less and recycle more! That is why I will do my best to start early and make all of our gifts this year or at least buy from places like Etsy (mom if you look close you will find your birthday present!!) and other WAHMs.    

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lucy
    Mar 05, 2008 @ 11:40:56

    YOu know I so agree with you for me ‘giving’ a gift. But I actually like getting gift certicates if I was at least thought about with the store in mind. Give me a Starbucks, World Market, hell, even a Walmart gift card anytime. 😉

    Reply

  2. nameastar
    Mar 05, 2008 @ 13:06:48

    Here’s a gift idea

    Reply

  3. Marianne
    Mar 06, 2008 @ 09:02:18

    Suzanne’s idea was even funnier, remember? She said we could all just be in the room on Christmas day and pass around a twenty. And when each person got the twenty handed to them they would say “I’m going to spend this money on ________” and then pass it to the next person. I still plan on proposing this idea to my family.

    Reply

Leave a comment

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever