Family dinner

I was born into a large Italian family. You know the kind… the ones where your immediate family is grandparents, mother, father, sister, brother, aunts, uncles and all first cousins. The kind of family that kisses at every meeting and feels the need to tell you every detail about their lives. This is how I grew up…. then i meet a boy who grew up in a military family, a boy who only meet his grandparents once (at our wedding) and one who is very private.

 

After living in the west away from my family for many years and now being back home for just as many I have not gotten back into the “big” family ways again. I miss those Wild West Christmas’ where it was just the four of us. The days when one did not fear the unexpected “pop” in.

 

Don’t get me wrong, I love my family dearly. I am so thankful to see my parents all the time and the help is amazing but when the dinner invite comes no matter its a school night… you go and smile about it. But it’s 10:30 PM and I am just now settling my kids to bed.

 

But it was nice having dinner with my 23 immediate family and to think two members were missing….

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

