What a day!

Well I have taken my normal month off after National Blogging month. I have thought many times during December about needing to post and wanting to keep caught up. I often wished and dreamed of a voice activated device that I could dictate to that would USB from the device to my computer my voice into written text to my blog, emails and texts that I have been neglecting. (If you know of any such device please post in the comments!!). But alas no such luck for me, and I will just have to stick to my hand written running list of “topics still needing to be blogged”.

Today is Christmas morning. It is an ever changing experience for our family. When the kids were babies we were out West with no family, left to our own devices all the day in PJs and pure toy ecstasy. In the years since we have been home in the South, with in laws, great grandparents and my divorced parents our holidays are broken up and long. But this year we decided to split the great grand parents and in-laws on Christmas Eve and both my parents together on Christmas day. This leaving a good part of the day with just our nuclear family. I think this is the best solution yet. Crazydaddy and I have just about perfected the Christmas morning routine down to preparing a full on breakfast in about 25 minutes. And the kitchen is already clean! (Yeah for me). The only hitch this morning was while both my children have never been told Santa is real, we have the “he’s just for fun” mentality, I think MD really wants to believe so we carry on. She was very concerned in regards to the naughty list last night and came crying into our room in the wee hours of the morning this morning that there were actually gifts under the tree for her. She had a nightmare that she was kidnapped and forced to do “bad” things while her daddy and I were killed, thus putting her on the naughty list. I’m not too sure what I’m most concerned about, the fact she dreamed we were murdered, that she was kidnapped and forced to do “bad” things or the fact that she was so contemplating the “naughty” list. After assuring her the first two things are IMPOSTBLITIES the later is something that she should really think about because this is something in her control. I think it may have an impact.

JM was super happy with his Skylander game for the Wii and his 3DS handheld game set and the puppy was paid in spades.
As for Crazydad and I, we haven’t exchanged gifts in many years as I generally just buy what I want when I want. LOL Plus this year has been very hard for us financially. The school the kids attend while we love it (and waited two years to get into) is about 45 minutes away from home and due to gas prices our gas alone is about $800 a month. This is like adding two car payments to our monthly bills when we have never even had one. We would love to sell our house and rent or buy closer to school but like so many our house isn’t worth the bank note it’s written on and we owe more then we can sell it for at this point. All this has been a huge adjustment for us, especially for me as I have to take first a part time job but now two part time jobs to help keep us above the line. It really is a huge adjustment for everyone as the grocery shopping, laundry and other things I used to do during the day are all now done on the weekend by the whole family. I will say the one day time part time job is flexible so if I need to bring the kids on a non school day I can or if I want to take a day off or something it is totally a go.

I took one such day on Friday for my annual Cookies and Craft day with the kids. It was not the same as with my friends out West but fun was had just the same. Ok I have toys to remove from boxes and shelves to reorganize. I do have a running list to blog about dating all the way back to Halloween and our two November birthdays so hopefully I will find some more time soon.

Happy Holidays to all!!!

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

