BFFs

Having a core group of friends and a best friend out West (and a childhood best friend in the South) I am very lucky. When I moved back to the South five years ago with my childhood BFF in another town I felt very alone. What is worse about this alone then when I moved to the West was I already had a core group (The Good Time Friends) who I felt I needed to be true to. The GTFs went out to dinner, playgroups, hung out, went on trips and told countless secrets. We were a tight group. So when I moved here I had a very hard time making friends. I had guilt issues…. I had best friends. Well after five years and the GFTs scattered to the wind I was left with one BFF in the West who I love dearly. She is my BFF who saw me through ALL the mommy first. She was even there in the room when my sweet angel MD was born. She kept me sane when I thought said sweet angel might have been a miscalculation on my part. She knows me inside and out and loves me despite all of my short comings. She truly knows me for the good, bad and the ugly. And a BFF in the South who I also love dearly but far away. She is my childhood BFF. She saw me through all the wild days and there were some wild days! She knows just how crazy I can be and she loves me anyway. She too knows me inside and out and loves me despite my short comings.

About a year ago I finally let my guard down. I am not an easy girl to really get to know and once that happens not the easiest girl to be best friends with. I have tried to force friendships in the past and it never quite works out like I want. Well like I said about a year ago I really clicked with K. It was just a friendship that came with an ease and comfort I did not have to try or force. It was a feeling I thought I would not feel again after the GTFs. Then about six months ago L joined my little circle. I really liked her from the start and again this odd ease I didn’t trust at first came whenever I spoke to her. Last came J & J. The first J is like my long lost sister. We share so many likes and dislikes it’s a bit scary to be honest. And the second J, she was a bit harder but once I got to know her I am so glad I put the effort into her. She is worth the time because now I can’t imagine not being her friend. I am so glad to be these girl’s friends. This does not mean I do not love my Southern and Western BFFs it just means I am so very lucky.

Here we are today at Breakfast for L’s birthday. Starting new traditions and sharing new secrets. Here’s to the Tampa GTFs: Sami, Izzy, Mia, Lola, and Frankie!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. shell
    Nov 16, 2011 @ 22:12:20

    I miss you soo much

    Reply

  2. mommywindow
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 23:52:34

    Shelly I miss you too!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

