What if… “if only” were only words….

Finish every day and be done with it.
You have done what you could.
Some blunders and absurdities
no doubt have crept in;
forget them as soon as you can.

Tomorrow is a new day;
begin it well and serenely
and with too high a spirit
to be cumbered with
your old nonsense.

This day is all that is
good and fair.
It is too dear,
with its hopes and invitations,
to waste a moment on yesterdays.

~Ralph Waldo Emerson

I saw the above quote over at Balancing Everything. I admire this mom. She is creative, focused and just seems to enjoy life. What I love most about her is she is the first one to say her counter tops are sticky, her hair is unwashed and her laundry hampers have grown legs and run off. I love that she is the first one to admit she is real and not perfect. And while I wish I was half the mom she is, it comforts me that even she struggles with some of the same issues I struggle with.

Maybe the reason I haven’t posted in so very long is I feel very guilty. I have been suffering from the “if only” syndrome again. With a side of “things will be perfect when….”

These two awful phrases leave me not only feeling guilty for not being happy with all the amazing blessing I do have in my life but then feeling flat at all the things I want to work out. Feeling let down by myself by all the wrong turns I have taken. I laugh but it’s not really funny that if give the option… I always pick wrong in any given situation. My mother is a big fan of “everything happens for a reason” theory. But being a believer in life is what you make it I do not share her views. I think life is what you reach out and grab, what you make happen. Maybe she is right; maybe being too grabby is how I get myself in all these situations.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jessica
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 22:06:39

    You are so sweet to me, and I promise you’d think a whole heck of a lot less of me if you could see me in the day to day… in a good, humanizing way. I write this with smelly armpits and stained pajamas after a very long, very headachy day. And candy wrappers are strewn EVERYWHERE. Can’t wait for them to finish off all that candy ;o)

    xoxox

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

