Don’t Panic here I am….

So it’s been forever! I have written some really great, deep, witty and down right hilarious blog entries… but unfortunately they never made it from my brain to the keyboard. I’m not sure why. I suppose I have a ton of excuses. Ok ready here goes… first in the beginning of December I was all blogged out from posting everyday in November. I normally take about a two week sometimes a month off posting after that. Then at the end of December my computer started giving me tons of trouble. I found I was running on very little memory space left and my hard drive was about six years old. So I delayed on the choice between purchasing more memory bringing me from 1g to 2gs (my entire old computer would hold is a total of 2gs). So I decided to go with a whole new computer. My brother in law so sweetly and cheaply offered to build for me. 4gs!!! So I should not be able to bog this one down for a very long time. Then the past two or three weeks I have been feeling overwhelmed by the amount of not posting I have been not doing LOL. So I have been putting it off. So there you have it! So what has the crazy family been doing?

 

Christmas is always an ordeal with my family but we made it. My aunt took over my dad’s side which I always find extremely annoying but I am trying to just put things like that out of my mind. So my family of four went. We ate at the children’s table alone, kissed the grandparents and great grandparent and went on to my mom’s house. My dad (they are divorced) actually came there as well so it was very nice and lots less stress and hassle. Thankfully my in laws like to do Christmas on Christmas Eve. All in all I wish it was less about the gifts and who’s determined to host on their terms and more about having a nice time with one another.

 

New Years…. Well as you may remember we had all those blizzards and snow storms right around this time. A friend of mine said to check out all the Disney world message board sites and blogs. So many were reporting that tons and tons of people had to cancel their Disney trip due to weather. Well I thought I would call the day before and see what type of rooms were available and that would tell me just how true this all was. Well low and behold I called and got a room at Disney’s Caribbean Hotel, a pirate room to boot. Those newly remodeled rooms are extremely hard to get and normally book about 5 to 6 months ahead. The Disney operator confirmed she had been getting a lot of cancellations due to the extreme weather the past day or two. So we booked it thinking we were so smart. Well….. Every other Floridian must have had the same idea because not only was it crowded the park was on a entry level 3 all day. Level 1 means open to everyone, 2 open to hotel guests, pass holders and people who have a meal reservation, 3 open only hotel guests, level 4 the park is close to everyone. So that plan sucked and to top it off after we did get in it was so crowded the kids at 11:08pm decided they had enough and wanted to return to the hotel. We were back just in time to watch the ball drop and all asleep by 12:15am.

 

I love how excited MD looks in each photo!! LOL

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The beginning of February has found me more motivated to stay on my meal plan and exercise then I have been in over a year. I have lost 12 pounds and while I still find doing the right thing a daily struggle I continue to do it. I know I am a work in progress but the longer I go the better.

 

I have been working on purging items I do not need. Every since I can remember I have held a yard sale every six months or so. I have plastic bins I fill as the children or I decided we no longer need an item. All to save for the next yard sale. Well I had my very last yard sale a few months ago. I decided the “stuff” is just taking up too much space both mental and physically. I emailed all my local friends and said Good Will is coming in a few days come look through these bins and take what you want for free. About half was gone by the time goodwill loaded up. It was a mentally hard thing to do. But I know it was right. I have successfully kept those bins empty. I now take items to consignment and if that isn’t an option they are given away. No more “saving” things. I am very proud of myself for these steps. I look continually around my home at what I can live without and try to get rid of it.

 

The next thing I am working on is no credit card use at all. Here in the crazy home we like to run up a small debt then pay it off and have done that cycle for many years. While it has worked for us we have never been able to save any real amount of money for the future. Other the children’s college funds and a small “if crazydad lost his job” account we don’t have a pot to piss in so that will change. So for the past month when I hit the consignment stores, Michaels, JoAnn’s a new theme plays in my head:” Do we really need this?” What I have come up with is I shop way too much. The answer is almost always no. So that is a new realization I have had this month. I have also found that using what I have is awesome. I have always prided myself on being a pack rat of sorts with the mantra “you never know when you might need it”. What I found in my purging is keeping too much means you really don’t know what you have. So by getting rid of a lot I now know exactly what I have and where. For example who need an entire box of clean glass jars? I kept a few and donated the rest. Just Friday I needed a plastic bin drawer thingy for the office and I was about to go to Wal-Mart to buy one when I decided to clean out my bathroom closet (where just so happens I had a drawer thingy) and reorganized, tossed expired items and bam I had my empty container for the office for free and a clean bathroom closet.  

 

So that is what I have been up to for the past two and a half months. Hopefully I will be a better blogger but no promises.

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

