Happy Birthday Daddy

Today is my dad’s sixty first birthday. I invited him to dinner at my home with my family and we celebrated over mixed grill and apple pie (his favorite). My wonderful husband cooked and what little I ate it was wonderful! My dad was happy and days like today I remember just why it is we moved back to this swampy land. Along with my husband my father is the best man I have ever known. I know I am very lucky to have him in my life. He always has my best interest at heart and even when I ask him to go against what he thinks is best for me he will hold my hand if I need it. He has always been there to catch me or pave a path so the fall doesn’t even occur.

 

My dad is mostly misunderstood by people and while I haven’t always liked it (the teen years) I “get” him. This past week has been a hard one for me medically and he has been there along with my other family members.

 

I love my dad so much. I have always looked up to him. I clearly remember an argument with my Uncle Walt when I was maybe five or six. It was in regards to which man was stronger and I do believe my dad won when I declared “my dad can lift a house and a tree at once”.

 

I will always be his little girl and he will always be my superman dad. The man that can rescue me in an instant and fix anything.

I love you daddy… Happy Birthday!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. mommy
    Nov 29, 2009 @ 10:22:03

    I love this post. What a wonderful tribute to your dad! It brought back memories of that day with Uncle Walt when you proclaimed your dad the strongest! How about the time I said your dad was acting grouchy? And you looked right at me and declared , “my daddy not grouchy!” Your dad and I are so proud of all your accomplishments- especially the most recent one! I love you baby.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

