Don’t cry baby.


 There will come a time when my daughter will learn to do many different grown up things. Most lessons I hope she will learn from me or her dad. Some lessons she will learn from her brother or a teacher. One day she will ask me how to apply make up. One day she will ask her dad how to pump gas in her car or change a flat tire. Today she asked me how to make a baby stop crying.

 

This weekend I got at a yard sale a Hasbro Baby Alive Doll. This doll is super cool. She drinks water and eats food and actually goes in her potty or her diaper. When she eats she makes chewing noises and her jaws go up and down and when she drinks she sucks. It is really neat. Fortunately for me all the movements and noises work without the liquid or food because I am finish with that stage of life and no sense telling MD this doll has this ability.

 

Another ability this doll (her name is Amy) has is she cries at random times and says phases. Most of the times if she is not hungry or thirsty she just wants you to cradle her in your arms and she will sigh and go to sleep.

That is where the doll lost my MD. After MD tried the drink and food and talking to her with no stop to the crying MD came to me. “I can not make this baby stop crying momma” I asked what she had tried and then I told her to try the cradle and whisper technique. She did it and ironically whispered what I always whisper to her “don’t worry baby mommy is here”. Then the baby sighed and went to sleep.

 

My MD looked at me and whispered “thanks momma now I know”. It was a very defining moment for me as I watched her walk away from me. MD has always been a nurturing girl but I think I have just taught her one of the key steps in being a mother.  Very bittersweet.

    

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

