Birthday party craziness

It’s a bit crazy around here getting ready for the party. At one time I was very happy about joint themed parties. That was when the children shared friends… When I was friends with all their playmate’s mothers. Now they have different friends. At least the girl’s list is all my friend’s daughters. But the boy invited all the boys from his class. I don’t know these moms but I’m wondering haven’t these moms ever heard of RSVPing? I put on there the 10th…. Today is the 13th and I have only heard from maybe half. Does that mean the other half isn’t coming or just plan on showing up? Then I had one mom say what time came I drop her son off… “Ummm you can’t drop him off… you have to stay with him”. These are five year olds people. This mom has never met me or been to my home… Is that what other people do and I’m the overprotective one? 

 

Anyway the house is almost clean except sweeping and mopping yet. I pick the food tomorrow and then OMH cross my fingers the 40% chance of rain we are forecasted to have on Saturday waits until 4pm. 

 

Oh and by the way if you happen to be reading this and find yourself wondering what does R.S.V.P. mean…. It means “Répondez S”Il Vous Plait” Which means, Respond If You Please, or simply Respond Please. It’s used so that a host of the party knows if you will be attending an event or not.
It’s a French expression.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marianne
    Nov 13, 2008 @ 23:05:19

    I don’t necessarily think you are being over protective, but staying with a five year old at a birthday party at a friend’s home for a couple of hours is not an absolute given either, I think at five you have to just know your kid and all the kindergarten parties my kids were invited to, my attendance was optional, I could stay or not stay.

    Reply

  2. Elisabeth
    Nov 15, 2008 @ 17:19:48

    I am right there with you on the RSVP thing. I once sent 16 invitations and got 4 responses. It’s like people don’t understand that you need to know one way or the other.

    But honestly, once kids start school, you start dropping them off for parties. Unless it’s a friend and you want to stay around and talk. But we live in a small town, so even if I don’t KNOW the parents, I “know” the parents.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

