Today’s the Day.

The Election

 

So today is the day….

 

I did vote early last week thankfully. I drove by my polling location and the line was out the door and wrapped around the building. That is great I hope everyone is exercising their voting voice but OMH I’m glad I did it last week when there wasn’t but a few people ahead of me. That is one of the joys of being a stay at home mom. My husband’s company is actually giving each employee an extra hour off today to go vote. 

 

What a historic election no matter who wins.

 

I have ALWAYS voted straight down my party line. That has always made sense to me well until now. I think for me personally and for my family Barack Obama makes sense. When I stood at the polling box I stood there for about five minutes with my electronic pen in hand hovering, frozen almost. Not because I had not decided who I wanted to vote for from an issues point of view but from a human nature point of view I am afraid. I was born and raised down South. We spent five years in the Wild West but now we are back to our roots (for better and worst). When we were in the west I was witness to very little racism but here in the South not a day goes by when some form of racism occurs around me and it makes me sick. The fact that so many folks (not all but quite a few) here can still have certain point of views based solely on the color of ones skin or where they came from makes me ill and really just shows a lack of education on that person’s part. 

 

My daughter has many baby dolls and some of them are African American and Asian American and she loves them as much as her Caucasian American dolls. The point I am getting at is what momentarily held me up from bubbling in the bubble next to Barack Obama’s name was fear. Fear I may be helping sign his death warrant. I have fears that some gun toting racist will try to kill him if he gets elected. Fear of what kind of tail spin that would do to our country and then there are those beautiful girls, his daughters. If that would happen they would lose their father and his wife how afraid must she be. If I’m thinking this how many others are as well? It is all so scary to say the least. I hate to think that of people but I can’t help it.

 

Now without my crystal ball I have no idea if I am right or wrong about the humanity of our country and maybe I am not giving us as a whole enough credit and then there are just the campaign issues themselves to be honest as of late I feel so mistrusting of all politics I could scream. I hate election time with all the negative campaigning and mud slinging it makes me sick. My feeling is if one gives in to speaking negatively about ones opponent then one has run out of positive things to say about ones self. 

 

I saw more positive campaigning from the Obama’s camp plus many of his views seem more in line with what and how I feel currently. I’m not sure if it is his views or if it is I am evolving into a different person. 

 

I think I have always been caught up in the republican family values view and anti abortion views. And while I still believe in strong family values and that abortion for me would never be the right choice (nor in my mind used as a form of birth control for anyone) I have come to change the way I view things. 

 

I suppose becoming a mother has opened my eyes as to what makes a family a family. Also as I have gotten older my views on our natural recourses have changed and how valuable our earth is. 

 

And the war while I support our troops and their families I can not understand it. At first I was so afraid about Terrorism and all the unknown that that word meant, I was happy to think something was being done. I felt reassured that there were brave men and women who would go and fight and protect me and my family. But now it makes me so sad. My heart breaks for each family that is separated by miles and miles and those that are now separated by life and death. Where and how does that end? And how to not have all the lost time and lost lives to not be in vain? I don’t know the answer to that but I think Senator Obama may.

 

Then on a side note my heart goes out to him because of the loss of the women who raised him, his grandmother. I can not imagine that two days before possibly the biggest day in a man’s (or woman) life the person who has been the biggest influenced on you dies. That she will not see it happen or he will not experience her pride first hand. That is one of the saddest things I have ever heard of that she won’t see him possible become President.   

 

So those are my views now go out and vote for who is best for you and your family so your voice is heard too!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jessi
    Nov 04, 2008 @ 19:12:18

    deep thoughts today. (hugs)

    Reply

  2. rita
    Nov 05, 2008 @ 11:51:42

    Good for you Angie, going with what feels right. I’m an independent but usually vote (R) I felt the same about Obama, just seemed a better fit. I too, have worried about his safety. I saw an interview of some people in the mid-west & their ignorance & intolerance was staggering. One man interviewed said Obama was a terrorist. When the reporter asked him why he thought that, his response was “if it walks like a duck & quacks like a duck, it’s probably a duck” I just thought OMG, this man votes!
    Well, the times they are a changing lets hope for the best.

    Reply

  3. lucy
    Nov 06, 2008 @ 11:35:48

    hey girl… I am so very happy to hear and read your post.

    This is of course after the election and I honestly wasn’t prepared for the vast amount of people that felt just as we do. It was very exciting. anyhoo… take care girl

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

