date night at home.


CD and I are not known for going out on the town. In fact I can count on one hand how many times we have left our children with a sitter (family included). CD and I do have fun in our own ways. After the children are in bed asleep we sometimes sit on the porch and watch the lake and talk or play cards or play board games. 

 

A few weeks ago I roped us into a barbeque that we needed to bring a dessert to. Now I am not known for my cooking skills but I sure try. So I picked a recipe that seemed easy enough. It only has four ingredients, how hard could it be? I saw that and off to the store I ran. 

 

At about 6pm on a Saturday night, thinking I would have the children help me make said Oreo Truffles we start the process… only upon further investigation this recipe takes about four hours from start to finish. This is past the kids’ bed time but we are already in the process so the kids help me with the first steps. 

 

After the three hours have past, the children are asleep and a few drinks have been enjoyed by both responsible adults the real fun starts. We start working on these truffles. It proved harder then I thought. I don’t know if it was the giggles or the jokes CD was cracking but they came out ugly! 

 

I will say they were yummy! I had the best night that night. It was like a date night at home. I am so thankful I have such a fun, loving, entertaining husband. A man I can say I not only love but I’m in love with. A man who sometimes makes me crazy but more often makes me laugh and sometimes makes me laugh hard enough to pee my pants!   

 

 

I posted the recipe I used if anyone is interested. I hope yours comes out prettier then mine. I will say put the kids to bed, grab your hubby, have a drink (or two) and have an at home date of your own. These little suckers were a lot of fun to make.     

 

Oreo Truffles

 

1 pound of Oreo Cookies – 3 sleeves

1 8 oz cream cheese — room temp

1 pound melting milk chocolate

1/2 pound melting white chocolate

 

Using a food processor, grind cookies to a fine powder.  Using mixer, blend cookie powder and cream cheese until thoroughly mixed. (You can also add the cream cheese to the food processor; there should be no white traces of cream cheese). Chill for 3 hours. 

 

Roll into small balls and place on wax or parchment paper-lined cookie sheet.

Refrigerate for 45 minutes.

 

Line two cookie sheets with wax paper.

In double-boiler, melt milk chocolate.

Dip balls and coat thoroughly.

With slotted tool, lift ball out of chocolate and let excess chocolate drip off.

Place on wax paper lined cookie sheet.

In separate double boiler, melt white chocolate. (I actually used the microwave for this step. Put the white chocolate into a zip lock bag and microwave for 30 seconds at a time until the chocolate is completely melted. Cut a small tip from the corner of the bag and you can pipe the white chocolate onto the truffles).

 

Let cool. If not eating that day, store in airtight container, in refrigerator.

 

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. lucy
    Sep 26, 2008 @ 17:45:46

    Hears to a drink!! I can actually picture your face blushy-like red… good to hear good stories…

    I can’t even imagine how yummy those truffles are… maybe I’ll give a go at it…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

