What color are your thumbs?

So JV is taking trips to the farmers market, Vicki is making easy bread, Jenny is constructing compost boxes. WOW everyone is doing so good at this summer challenge! What am I doing you ask?  Well maybe you would first ask what summer challenge am I talking about? Well my cool friend JV over at More Laundry decided this summer she would tackle some things that had been intimidating to her to try in the past. She invited all of her online friends to try it as well. So I decided I would give it a go. That is why the newest links have been added to my blogroll, a lot of us are giving this challenge a go. If you would like to join in leave me a comment and link back to me and JV in your blogroll. Then start challenging yourself! 

 

Ok then now maybe you would ask what is my first challenge for the summer challenge.   

 Well my first summer challenge was to simply see a sprout. Whatever the opposite of a green thumb is that is what I have, two of them to be exact. It actually makes me very sad because if you gave my grandmother two stones and some dirt in a week or two sure as shit you would find little baby stones popping up all over the place. Just one more skill that did not make it down the gene pool to me (along with her mad sewing skills and the skinny gene…).

 

Anyway the kids and I went to a free class at Wal-Mart with my MOMS group last week. We planted Morning Glories and beans. The lady said when we were ready we could just plant the sprouts and paper cups all into the ground to grow. We also planted pumpkin seeds, also in a paper cup. She said mid June is the best time to plant a pumpkin so it is rip for Halloween. We also “snipped” some other type of plant I forget the name to have it “root” in a jar of water.  Ok then…..? 

 

And I am happy to report all our sprouts have sprouted and roots are showing…. Ummmm now what? They are so little, if I put them in the ground I don’t think they will survive. And how do I keep the night critters from eating my beans and worse yet our pumpkins? Mid June is already gone now… 

 

 The day we were at Wal-Mart I bought a few annuals and a few of that plant we snipped for the kids to put in a hanging planter and a pot and we found out that if keep those outside and don’t water them every single day they will become desperately limp and had we not realized in time I think they would have been history but we watered them and they perked back up and now MD reminds me every morning to water the flowers. 

 

My mom also gave me some aloe plant to add to our collection. So I would say this is our first summer challenge and it has gone great so far. Hopefully I will still have the same happy news about my lil’ sprouts at the end of the summer.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thecraftwench
    Jun 25, 2008 @ 16:36:55

    I so loved this entry!

    And to see the reference to Jenny (an IRL friend of mine) made my day!

    Reply

  2. Jenny
    Jun 30, 2008 @ 14:59:16

    Hey, thanks for including me in your post. Hope all is well with your challenges so far. Your reference to my compost bin is starting to motivate me again to get back into blogging. Once summer hit I have been slacking off, but I think I may start back up again. Thanks again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

