What costs $63.72?

That was the cost to fill my gas tank today. Do I have Hummer or a F250? Why no I don’t and yes that is about what I spend on a week’s worth of food at the grocery store for my family of four. I just can not believe the cost of living these days! Just to get by is almost breaking the bank and forget going to dinner or the movies or whatever else. I wish I could bring myself to cut the cable but I’m having an unnatural love affair with our DVR and not ready to say goodbye yet and I’m cheating on my DVR with Netflix. These are two expenses that if something doesn’t change I may just have to break it off. 

 

How did this happen? When the statement “cost of living increase” was rumbling around CD’s company last month he said it was shot down faster then one could utter the statement. So I am assuming that is a no go. I just find it shocking how quickly it goes out but how slowly it comes in. Without some luck, family and did I say luck and family? We have an emergency reserve for our household. What do the planners advise? Is it six months or a year? Well we have enough to give the false sense of security but how long could we really go in today’s economy? Thankfully CD is in a line of work that no matter how bad it gets he’ll have work.   

 

I am a bit on the jumpy side the last couple of days. Everything has been going my way… To be honest it has me worried. It started on Saturday when a store undercharged my by $15.00 and when I noticed after the transaction was completed the manager said “oh well your gain don’t worry about it”. Then this week has been filled with really fun swimming dates, play dates and book discussions. This is a minor feat for me. I have been struggling to make a connection to some of these girls here in the South and missing my Wild West friends terribly. While I still miss my friends out west I think I may be starting to make some new one that I can relate to here. 

 

This week in the mail I got two cool pairs of flip flops from a swap I did online and they fit perfectly and I really like them. Today a new job prospect came up that I have been dreaming of and I am currently past the first of about five interviews. That job would be magical for me and would be like living my own fairytale if I were to get it!  

 

This week I also decided on trying to make money at two of my hobbies by reserving my name at Etsy and working on some of those to list. Lastly I may have found out I possible have about half the hoops to jump I though I had to jump through in regards to another “little” project I am working on. So if that pans out I will be that much closer to “melting away” with excitement!! So like I said this week has been going my way; friends, found money, new shoes and fairytales….

 

Can the only down side be the rise in gas cost? The economy that is stalled and failing like a beached whale? Is it selfish of me to hope so?

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jo
    Jun 14, 2008 @ 23:21:07

    The gas prices are totally insane! You’ve had a great week, here’s hoping the rest of the month is even better. Love the flip flops, and the toe nails!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

