note the broken one….




note the broken one….

Originally uploaded by mommywindow.

Last year was the first time that my kids have ever dyed Easter eggs. That was at a spring party where they each did one egg. This year we did more at home when dad was home from work. I’m not sure if ever my parents dyed eggs with me, I have no memory of doing it so this was new to me. It seemed simple enough. I let the kids pick the kit, bought the box, got some eggs and came home. Easy right? Wrong….

Not only are they not that pretty, one got it’s corner smashed and someone needed to tell the girl we were dying eggs not fingers and hands.

BUT I was once told it was the process not the end result that matters. With that in mind this was a very good afternoon. We laughed until some of us cried and others tinkled a little… I’m not telling who did what!!!

It was fun but now what to do with these darn eggs? Only Crazydad will eat them. I suppose I will hide them and see what happens.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marianne
    Mar 21, 2008 @ 20:34:29

    Heehee, that is so funny! I got to the part where you were complaining about the dying hands and fingers and I thought “dammit Angie, it’s the PROCESS!” And then I read the next paragraph. It does sound like a good time…..we did our eggs on Tuesday. I’m too lazy to post pictures or anything else lately, so oh well.

    And what you do with the eggs is make egg salad on toast or slice them up into a green salad, or secretly throw them away. But your idea of hiding them and seeing if the kids find them by the bright colors or by the rotting smell is also a good one.

    Reply

  2. mommywindow
    Mar 21, 2008 @ 21:26:52

    you know MR you have no idea how often I reflect on your statement!! I don’t even remember what we were doing when you said it but it sure did stick!

    And when I said I would hid them… I love your secret hiding place!!!

    Reply

  3. mommy
    Mar 21, 2008 @ 23:08:46

    hello!!@@#!@!@ of course we dyed eggs! I am a teacher. Remember? And we always used to have everyone come to our house for Easter so we HAD to have them to hide. BUT! Here is the secret. I hate dying eggs….so I would buy the egg dye that was just really oil. Hard boil the eggs then you would just dunk them in the oily colored water and the oil would stick to the egg then dry and they would look like marble eggs. No dyed hands just pretty eggs…..I liked to do things the easy way and it accomplished my goal- you wnated to color eggs! Get a grip- next year buy the oil stuff- I hope they still make it!

    Reply

  4. mommy
    Mar 21, 2008 @ 23:10:29

    oh yeah- your eggs really look pretty in the pic- kinda like the ones we used to dye! Have fun Easter! Love you all.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

