IDK? My BFF Jill……

Over the years I have been on many message boards and forums. Mostly about mothering. And there are certain terms we all (at least most of us) have come to read just as if the words were types out.

 

DH0 (Dear Husband)

DC (Dear Children)

LMK (Let me know)

YIM (yahoo instant messenger)

LOL (laugh out loud)

IMO (in my opinion)

And thanks to a certain cell phone company IDK (I Don’t Know) and BBF (Best Friend forever).

 

Sometimes these “computer” terms are more then letters it a word spelled out or in most cases misspelled (on purpose)…

 

– Sekret (Secret)

– Jelous (Jealous)

– Seks (Sex)

-hawt (hot)

 

Even the term Blog comes from web log.

  

But there has been one common term that I never knew the meaning. It’s used so much that I felt stupid asking. I gathered it is a good thing but the origin I had no clue and have never used the term myself. Until today! On the yahoo home page there is an article that caught my eye;

 

“W00t,” a hybrid of letters and numbers used by gamers as an exclamation of happiness or triumph, topped all other terms in the Springfield-based dictionary publisher’s online poll for the word that best sums up 2007.

Merriam-Webster’s president, John Morse, said “w00t” was an ideal choice because it blends whimsy and new technology.

 

Now I don’t know about whimsy and new technology because every time I see it I think of the wise old owl in Mr. Rodgers for some reason. But now I am happy to know the wheres and whys of “W00t”.

So W00t, W00t me!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. rita
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 18:28:02

    ha ha, they’re were talking about this very thing on the radio this a.m. & I for once was in the “know” w00t to me too. Thanks CrazyMom

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

