Before and almost after

Here is MD’s room the day we closed on the house:

 Painting her room Disney’s Pixie Dust pink.

The Picket Fence and flowers. The fence was made from the discarded wood blind slats. I was searching and searching for the perfect material to make the fence. One night before we moved in CD was shorting the living room blinds and tossing the extra slats near where I was sitting on the floor and AHHAAA those worked perfectly. Easy to keep clean, thin enough to cut the tops off and thick enough to stand up to a girl’s room but again still thin enough to just use finishing nails. I love it!

 I love this little shelf for her treasures.

Here is a small part of her sleigh. I will post pictures of it along with her princess bedding later. I’m getting her cutom sewn bedskirt (to hide the trundle bed) tomorrow I hope. The small table is for her tea parties and an awesome yard sale find from about two years ago. One I almost didn’t get because it was $5 and I only wanted to pay $4, I’m so glad I paid the extra dollar because it is perfect for her room. The wooden bench is also a toy box and was once mine as a small girl. Last in this photo is mirror window and sill. I really adore this. My mother was with me when I bought it and I had to fight her for it because she wanted it for her windowless office. I won that fight but I did buy another hand painted window for grandma. 

Here is my little princess at her vanity table. The chair was mine when I was her age, it is so special that she can use it. I think it would look better painted pixie dust pink but the seat is wicker so I’m not too sure how to go about painting it so for now it stays natural. The table itself was part of the mirror/sill set, the framed mirror and wood rocking chair  all were yard sale finds! 

And last photo is my favorite. I’m not sure who loves this space more me or MD?    

I really do love this room. I say it is almost an “after” because the bedskirt needs to be added and both children need their wooden names wall art painted and hung but we are almost done here.      

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. smarmoofus
    Nov 28, 2007 @ 11:25:24

    Came for WW, but got distracted by this… That is a precious room! I love the picket fence!

    I’ll put the my comment on the WW post.

    Reply

  2. yestheyareallmine
    Nov 28, 2007 @ 22:20:29

    That is too precious!!

    Reply

  3. rita
    Nov 29, 2007 @ 11:25:35

    You’re so right, I absolutely love this room! You go girl!! We’ve been in this house 3 years & AM’s room has yet to have a smidgen of paint put on. Maybe this will inspire me to get busy.

    Reply

  4. Michelle in mx
    Jan 04, 2008 @ 01:09:08

    So super adorable I’m left speachless!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

