AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH


Life whizzing by….

 
I truly can not believe how life is whizzing by me. My son is a skillful deal maker and my daughter can reach the light switch. Both children ask for their “privacy” and I for a few moments think “I’m the only one here” and then realize they are speaking to me. They have become real people. Can you believe it because I can’t?

In some small way I secretly inside enjoy the times when one of them calls out to me that they are scared or need a hug because it means just for that much longer they are my babies.

I can hardly believe that this is my last year home with the boy before he goes off into the big bad world of kindergarten. We spent time this weekend with some friends. Their son who is almost a full year younger then mine is so much for adventurous, from riding his bike without training wheels to skillfully driving a four wheeler to swimming like a seasoned surfer. I’m sure having a pool and living in a much more rural area had something to do with it but more over I think he is their third child and JM is our first is more of a factor. I’m sure the boys’ personalities play a part as well.

I wish I could just let him do his thing and make his own mistakes and not hover over him all the time, but it is so hard for me to let go. The girl I don’t really worry about. Not only will she kick ass in life she will take prisoners. I truly worry about the boy she will marry and the many that will come before him and try and be crushed.

Anyway like I said life is whizzing by….. right over my toes.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shelly
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 20:29:14

    Yes not only are any two children different but as these two boys they really are diff kids.I say this because I look at my first child who spent the night with a friend over the week-end and as the day went on my friend says to me stop calling she is fine! With that said the first child is one you seem to always hover over no matter how old or what gender. And as the more you have, it seems those children come out knowing that they are the second or third child ready to kick butt!

    Reply

  2. Brande
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 02:01:23

    Girl… it is so refreshing to read not only yours but Shelly’s comment about the first child. No matter what I do I am constantly trying to protect him… prepare him… baby him. He rolls his eyes and is starting to basically tell me to back off. But how? I am totally struggling with him getting older.
    Myla on the other hand takes no crap and needs no one to stick up for her. Today at Mickey Dee’s some boy around 3 came over and totally butted his way through, not even really taking notice to her… she looked at him with a look that almost made me feel sorry for him… she waved her hands at him (with pinching motions) all the while their was this high pitched sound coming from her vocal chords. And do you know what I did… Nothing. I didn’t have to, he walked away. (She then looked at me like, “can you believe that guy, mom?” … all I could do was smile and shake my head.
    (BTW I miss you girl… and those kids… they have totally gotten bigger since April) …. Later, B

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

