I’ll get in and be right back out…….

Yesterday I had a grand idea. Tony Dungy the current coach of this years Super bowl winners The Colts and the former coach of the Buccaneers, would be in town promoting his book. He is still very well respected here and has many local ties. He would be at three different bookstores. My FIL is one of the hardest people I know to buy gifts for and wouldn’t you know his birthday is in August and we have no idea what to get. So the grand idea was to buy Tony’s book and get him to sign it. Very simple task right? How long could this possible take? Well try ALL DAY that’s how long. My mother, the two kids and I drove an hour away to the first signing where we were greeted with a small store, about 500 “ticket” holders and a mass of others wanting to get their book signed. You see the people with tickets were guaranteed to have their book signed and the rest of us he would maybe get to. I said forget that and got back on the road. We called the second bookstore where Tony would be and instead of tickets they were handing out 400 bands, so we high tailed it there and both my mother and I received our much coveted arm band that guaranteed a signature from Tony.

Realizing then just how long this process would be I ask my mother to leave me there and take the kids home and fortunately she agreed. Can you imagine? Two kids standing for three hours in a bookstore winding in and out of rows all lined with books all with pages just begging my kids to rip….. And me needing to stay in line because if I got out these people were just hawk eyed for “cutters” in the line…. It worked out because there was a young boy and his mother standing near the door, the boy was in tears as he did not have on his wrist a ban. The store had givien the last one away. The mother was saying they would wait anyway and hope they would meet Tony and have the boy’s book signed. Me knowing Mr. Dungy had another signing to go to after this one I knew that wouldn’t happen so we gave him my mom’s armban. The boy and mother were so happy! 

Needless to say I am not sure how I stood there so long but I did. When I got to the front Tony smiled and signed my book as did his wife who is so pretty. I am personally amazed how they signed so many books in one day, especially her with a wedding ring that big her finger must have weighed a ton. But they were both very nice and there I was out the door after waiting just about three hours. Crazydad had to fight rain and traffic to pick me up and I had to wait around out front of the store another thirty minutes but it worked out because just as he was walking up to me Tony was walking out of the store to his limo that had just pulled up. There was only a very small crowd out front hanging around. And even before Tony was out the door his son who jumped out of the limo, was calling him, sounding just JM “dad, dad, dad, dad, dad, dad…..” Tony so sweetly placed his hand on his son’s shoulder and listened as his son excitedly explained how he had eaten McDonalds.

After his son got back in the limo I walked up to him and so softly I can not believe he heard me, I said “excuse me Mr. Dungy would you mind taking a photo with my husband”. He was so nice and said sure and my CD shook his hand and said “Thanks Coach”. It was great! And in that moment made worth the day’s long quest! I sure hope my FIL likes the gift but even if he doesn’t I thought it was cool.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. mommy
    Jul 18, 2007 @ 18:13:26

    I love it! See-what did I tell you? Giving my armband to someone would bring that person some joy and sure enough- you got rewarded for your kind deed by the joy John got in taking a pic with Tony!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

