At least I was good at something….

Today I was listening to my MP3 player filled with all of my favorite songs and it got me thinking about the ease of living today. Walkman tape player with headphones replaced with MP3 players and iPods with earbuds.

When I was younger to hear ones favorite songs you either had to buy the whole album or make your own mix tape off the radio. I was a huge fan of the mix tape. I made my fair share of mixed tapes and gave away a few as well. I knew I had a good friend when she handed me a mix tape she made just with me in mind or if I liked a boy …. watch out because the mix tape was coming!

Making the mix tape was a fine art, filling up each side of the tape right up to the end with no dead space and no songs cut off abruptly, talent I tell you talent! I am alittle embarrassed I actually gave my boyfriend just before Crazydad a mix tape and that was as recent as 1995.

Listening to the radio for hours. The play, record and pause buttons all pressed, with my fingers just hovering, posed to catch the start of whatever song I was looking for. The songs that would be just perfect for that tape. It could take hours, days even. How great for my mother because I was chained to the radio for long stretches of time. Not wanting to miss the song that was just right to be next. Then there were the times when I was recording a song and forgot and let it run into the commercials. Or the absolute worst thing; my mom came in to tell me to do this chore or that thus ruining that song completely. Ahhh the joys of the mix tape good for keeping or giving to that someone special.

My poor children will never know the love of the mix tape. I know they can still burn music on a cd but it’s not the same. Where is the thrill in point and clicking? No no one needs the excitement of what is coming onto the radio next, starting and stopping at just the right moment……. Those poor, poor children.  Thank goodness I never made Crazydad a mix tape….. he would still be laughing to this day!   

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. LIZ
    Jul 04, 2007 @ 00:56:27

    BOY DID YOU MAKE ME GO BACK AND REMEMBER THOSE DAYS. I LAUGHED WHEN YOU SAID MOM WOULD COME IN AND RUIN THE WHOLE SONG. POOR POOR CHILDREN IS RIGHT. THEY WILL NEVER APPRECIATE THE CHALLENGE OF A GOOD MIX TAPE!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

