When is enough, enough?

Enough it is such a fickle word.

Sometimes it means mmm yummy I’ve had just enough chocolate cake to make me feel good or it could mean I had just enough sun on my shoulders to feel alive before I got burnt. It could mean I have enough love for my kids to make my heart just burst and we have enough happiness to make my cheeks hurt from smiling. My poor friend “enough” could also mean we don’t have enough money to pay the bills this month or there is never enough time to do all the things I want or need to do. And of course there is the mothers cry ENOUGH to her children.

  

Enough seems to be one of those words you love to hate and hate to love. My children both seem to be the black hole of enough parental attention and never feel they have enough between them. While I struggle with that the eternal hand of the man is always out in our direction making me painfully aware no matter how hard crazydad works or how many odd jobs I take we are just destiny to never get ahead or have enough to relax and be comfortable.

  But then I think about that family holding their sign, what would they settle on as “enough” or where has their “enough” line been pushed? There are so many “enoughs” I know my family will never have to face and I am thankful for that. We are lucky that our bellies are never empty and out hearts are always full and then I think there may just be hope for my friend “enough” after all.   

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

