What is it worth?

This time of year always sucks financially for our family. We are about a month away from crazydad’s annual bonus at work. This bonus sustains crazyfamily all year, paying for our yearly vacation, car registration and insurance, crazydad’s eye exam and a years worth of contacts and enough left over to squirrel away in the savings to have a little each month until say around January. Today I was daydreaming about a time in the future when money wouldn’t be a problem and how I could I help our family get to that day. I’m not talking about living on funds squirreled away but actually having enough in the bank to not worry. That would be so wonderful. If I would just go back to work maybe that would be possible but I again thought about all the things I would be missing and what price is that worth. We have such a short time when our children are little, not just before they start school but even after. I want to be here when they come home, I want to be the one that helps them with their homework and I want to be the mom that can attend those fieldtrips.  

The funny thing is to that I have a part time job that I do from home. It’s not all that time consuming and when it pays it’s a pretty decent amount of money and I can’t remember what I did before that extra income. So with that in mind the sacrifice of going back to work fulltime I wonder would it be worth it? After a year or so would we raise our way of living so we would feel just as broke as we do now? The only difference would be I would be away from my kids all day, making more but spending more? I think I am realizing life is about trade offs, what is something worth? It is a very exciting realization and it is also very exciting to remember this is the only life we get and there is no room for error or regret. To not do the things we don’t want to do or to make time for what is important. I’m on the brink of something wonderful happening, I’m not sure what but I am lightening my load as far as dumping what is not important to me and rekindling what makes me happy.  

  Everyone in my house is sick including crazymom. So I am all doped up and pretty medicine heady so forgive the rambling euphoric talk of happiness unless you feel inspired well then that is what I was trying to do…..     

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. misslionheart
    Jan 15, 2007 @ 14:32:38

    What do you do from home? I’ve thought about working from home as long as it’s flexible!
    Hope you are all well soon. We’ve all been sick here, too. Tummy bugs. Yuk!

    Reply

  2. Haley-O
    Jan 15, 2007 @ 21:32:37

    I just heard this (for the umpteenth time…) on the Golden Globe Awards, and I was reminded of it reading your post. So, here goes!: It’s not about the end, it’s about the JOURNEY! 🙂 While getting a full-time job might make you financially more secure, would it make you happy? Sounds like it wouldn’t because you’d miss your children!

    And, I totally hear you! As a stay-at-home mom, it seems there’s always some underlying pressure to bring in more income, but it’s more important to be happy — for ourselves and our families. Just my thoughts. 🙂 I’m right there with you…in the same boat. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

