I was recently asked to: 

Share a holiday tradition from your childhood.  Do you continue this tradition with your own children? 

I replied: 

Every year since DH and I meet I buy an ornament to represent the year survived passed. Now I buy or make an ornament with each child’s name and put the date on it.  When my kids are off on their own, they will have ornaments and they will remind them of their past. (If I can part with them). 

We also let each child open one gift to enjoy on Christmas Eve. My parents and also DH’s parents did that as well. I remember one year when I was about 7 or 8 years old I pick one gift for my “one” that I though was going to be a baton…. It turned out to be an umbrella. Not quite the same thing…..  

The memories of my childhood came flooding back. I grew up in a very Catholic family and my memories include going to Sunday Mass (with my parents commenting on all the sprinkle Catholics. Those are the ones that only come to Mass on the occasions when the Priest sprinkles Holey Water on the congregation). We also lit the Advent candles and talked about my mother’s ceramic “you may never touch” nativity set. My mother would also remove every picture from the walls in out home and replace them with Christmas wreaths. She also had this village she would set up with ice skaters and snow and the whole works. 

One memory that sticks in my brain that I find myself going back to often is one year my grandmother spent the night at our home. It had to be one of her last alive. It was in our old home so my sister was very small. I remember my mom and grandmother tucking me into bed. And after they were safely back in the living room I snuck out and lay in the hallway to watch them. They were wrapping gifts and laughing and being happy. There isn’t much to the memory just that they were so happy and I felt so good to hear them. When I think of it now in my mind I see my mother’s smile and my grandmother sitting in a chair bent over the table wrapping. If I try I can smell the coffee they were drinking. Ironically I can’t recall the next morning opening gifts just them smiling and that laughter

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Marianne
    Nov 13, 2006 @ 18:07:14

    Aw, that is so sweet! I remember going to mass on Christmas…..one year I had strep throat so I had to stay home by myself. I used to complain a LOT about church so initially when my mom told me I would have to stay home, I thought it was good news, even as sick as I was, hey I DIDN’T HAVE TO GO TO CHURCH!! But then when everyone left without me I realized I was just sick and miserable and now alone. It wasn’t as much fun as I thought it would be.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

