Do you have this already?

Today my oldest and I attended a child’s birthday party at our local pizza place. The baby and dad stayed at home. I never really realized just how much work these parties are for the moms. I mean sure I have had my kids party at our home and yes they were crazy but I just thought it was me. My friend handled it well and the party went off without a hitch but there were about 1000 and 1 children there and it was a zoo. My child cried as the presents were opened because he wanted one. I really thought at his age (4yr in two weeks) he would understand but…. I guess the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. I remember at one of my birthday parties, maybe I was turning 7 or 8 years old. It was at the skating rink. I was opening my gifts specifically the one from Allison Lane. It was a Chutes and Latter’s game. I proudly announced that I already owned that game and my mother smacked me right at the table, in front of all my friends. Later explaining to me she was sorry for embarrassing me but it was rude of me and how bad I had made Allison feel. That no matter what the gift I need to always remember it is the thought and I need to always be gracious. I know she shouldn’t have smacked me but I now understand the kind of pressure she must have been feeling and then to have a little brat act so ungrateful…. I never forgot that lesson and will pass it on to my children. I will hopefully do it without the smack but I can’t make any promises.

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

