Thur the looking glass….

So the other day I had the pleasure of taking both children to Kiddie Kandids, and yes I said both children. I decided to do both because not only did I have two coupons for free photos but my theory was get it all done in one shot. When JM was an infant I once did Sears, Kiddie Kandids and Picture People all in one day and couldn’t understand why I was getting funny looks from my friends. Now I know why!  

So as I waited our turn, I see three other sessions going on. Very interesting, the first is a mother of an infant, in all the infant sleeping during a photo session glory. Ahh I remember being her. So concerned about capturing just the right sleep expression, so calm, so sure of what she wants. She has no idea……Then I look over to the mom of the, I would say six year old. The child is standing so nice, smiling when told its great and the mom! She is sitting calmly next to her, hands on her lap, looking relaxed. At this point the biggest problem seems to be “over posing”. Then the next doorway is a seemingly teenager and younger infant sibling. The mom is tense as the teenager grumbles and grapes. The mom stays cool, smiles and grits her teeth but with a sign or two coming from all involved they get thru their session. Ok our turn….. My one advantage is Kiddie Kandids has an elevated platform and MD is not too comfortable with heights so she is standing there not too sure. It kind of makes me laugh; here is the most independent 20 month old I have ever seen with her arms outstretched to me! I must admit secretly that part was nice. But then we go on to the 60 minutes of what can only be described as ”
mommy hell”.  An hour filled with peek-a-boos, I’m gonna get your toes and pleeeeeese just smile one time. In the end I got my smiles and poses but the photographer and I both really worked for them. By the time we are done, we were both covered in sweat and a small crowd had gathered to watch us “work” thru that large mall window. I felt like the mother of Dumbo with all the pointing and laughing going on. But as frizzed as I felt it was over! No one got hurt and the young girl who I am sure I have cured of ever wanting children is so sweetly telling me what lovely children I have. I always feel compelled to tip those girls. I usually leave with a sense of I must request that girl next time, but strangely enough I never see the same girls in there again.   
 

   Ironically there was what looked to be a grandmother just sitting in the waiting area next to an overloaded with “stuff” stroller and she had this look of calm over her face….So maybe there is still hope yet.  

So what I think I have learned from this experience are we as mothers start out naive that these children will do and act like we need and want them too. Then we come to a place where they still are not sure of themselves but know what you are asking of them just isn’t it. Then we arrive to a time where they try just so hard to please us, landing on a firm “I’ll do it. But not without complaining”. To us ending up reflecting and watching our own handle their own and probably secretly enjoying it.  

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

