Does it ever get better?

My heart hurts. I remember on September 11th I was in a classroom at Clark Elementary. Mrs. E. was on break and I was alone with all 31 tiny kindergarten faces staring at me waiting to finish the morning circle time when Mrs. D. whispered in my ear : “smile at the children but the World Trade Centers have fallen and America is under attack the school in going into lock down.” As she left my room and the children started to fidget and talk I just sat there. I have never been to New York so the actual gravity of the situation I did not grasp at that moment. Then the flood of parent panic…. I ended that day with four children…. all the other had been released to their parents. I couldn’t understand why… I had also been in a classroom (preschool) when the Oklahoma City bombing accrued. I remember the sadness but it was just something sad that happened. This was different.

I can’t imagine being on one of those planes. The realization they were not in control and were going to die. I don’t understand these terrorist. How do you take people’s lives away from them? On September 11, 2001 2973 American’s lost their lives. People just like you and me …normal
people. Mothers, fathers, sisters, brothers, grandparents, pregnant women normal people.

The terrorist did something else that day, they took away my security. They took away some of my innocence and they took away my belief that people, all people at their core are good. I once thought that deep down any given person would do the right thing and I was wrong.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Still a sad day. « wHEn cRaZy sEEms nOrMaL ~The mommy Blog Am I looking in or looking out?

Leave a Reply

A Place For Everything

removing the clutter...forever

